Ahold Delhaize Shareholders Approve 2023 Financials and Board Appointments

Ahold Delhaize convened its Annual General Meeting of Shareholders (AGM) today, employing a hybrid format that allowed shareholders to participate either in-person or virtually. All items on the agenda, including the approval of Ahold Delhaize’s 2023 financial statements and the (re)appointments to the Supervisory Board, were successfully ratified by shareholders.

A total of 147 shareholders, representing approximately 639 million shares, attended the meeting. The proceedings were broadcasted live on the Ahold Delhaize website, offering shareholders the opportunity to engage and pose questions during the session, whether they joined in-person or virtually.

Key decisions included the adoption of Ahold Delhaize’s 2023 financial statements and the endorsement of the proposed 2023 annual dividend of €1.10 per common share. Shareholders were reminded that an interim dividend of €0.49 per common share was already disbursed on August 31, 2023, with the remaining €0.61 per common share slated for payment on April 25, 2024. Additionally, KPMG was appointed as the external auditor for the financial year 2025.

In his address, Ahold Delhaize CEO Frans Muller reflected on the challenges of 2023, emphasizing the company’s resilience and adaptability in the face of global uncertainties, societal divisions, and economic fluctuations. Muller lauded the dedication of Ahold Delhaize associates, highlighting their efforts in serving over 63 million individual customers and contributing over 240 million euros to charitable causes throughout the year.

Muller also expressed satisfaction with the company’s financial performance, noting the achievement of key targets and the generation of over €1.25 billion in cost savings, surpassing initial projections. He underscored the importance of maintaining financial stability to support ongoing investments in local economies, sustainability, innovation, digitalization, and store operations.

Looking ahead to 2024, Muller outlined plans for strategic growth and value creation, teasing further details to be unveiled during the upcoming Strategy Day in May, which will be accessible via webcast.

In terms of board developments, shareholders approved the appointment of Robert Jan van de Kraats and Laura Miller as new members of the Supervisory Board. Peter Agnefjäll, Chair of the Supervisory Board, welcomed their addition, citing their wealth of experience and expertise. Meanwhile, the tenure of René Hooft Graafland, a longstanding member of the Supervisory Board since January 2015, concluded, with Agnefjäll expressing gratitude for his significant contributions.

The AGM also greenlit the reappointment of Bill McEwan, Helen Weir, and Frank van Zanten as members of the Supervisory Board, ensuring continuity and stability within the board.

Source link